Faeries of the Dreamdark: Blackbringer by Laini Taylor

BlackbringerI know what you’re thinking.  Faeries?  Little fluffy, dainty, sickly-sweet little things who twinkle around the ethereal forest chatting with the cherubic woodland creatures?  Yeah, that’s what I thought, too.  I have nothing against twee fairies (though I’m slightly irked by alternative ‘magykal’ spellings like ‘faerie’ and ‘faery’ and ‘fayrie’ and all of that), but I don’t usually feel the need to read a 400-page novel abou them.  Thus, I completely ignored the myriad excellent reviews I had read of Faeries of the Dreamdark: Blackbringer.  Last week I had nothing to read and, in a moment of seredipity, found Blackbringer on the new book shelf.  I figured that I could put it down again if I didn’t like it. 

Within 10 pages I was hooked.

These are not fluttery glittery fairies.  There are a few with swallowtail butterfly wings, and several who are pretty, but they’re all intelligent, resourceful and, in some cases, warrior-fierce.  Magpie Windwitch is the granddaughter of the west wind, the daughter of traveling scholars, and a hunter/adventurer seeking out the demon ‘snags’ who have infiltrated the human and fairy worlds.  When she discovers the Blackbringer, the scourge of creation, has been freed by some unthinking human fishermen, only Magpie has the skills to find the creature and make the world safe again.   

If you’re looking for an adventure with danger (the end of the world!), excitement (an evil queen!), great characters (imps and dragons and long-dead champions!) and humor (a company of bumbling thespian crows!), this is the book for you.  I promise to return my copy very soon. 

Posted by: Sarah

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,217 other followers

