Thirty Days Has September: Cool Ways to Remember Stuff by Chris Stevens

Thirty Days Has SeptemberWay back when I was in elementary school I learned something that was so cool. It was a clever way to remember how to spell the word arithmetic. A Rat In The House Might Eat The Ice Cream. From that day on I have never misspelled that word. I also learned the famous little ditty about the days of the months which I unabashedly admit I still sing in my head when trying to remember how many days there are in certain months. So, of course I was drawn to Thirty Days Has September: Cool Ways to Remember Stuff.

This book is chock full of little tricks and mnemonics (memory devices) to help someone (me!) remember useful bits of information. There are chapters on spelling, history, geography and math. Certainly there are far too many little rhymes for anyone to remember, but, nonetheless they make for entertaining reading. I would venture to guess that the reader may find something that stays with him forever. Such as:

My Very Educated Mother Just Served Us Noodles. (the planets in order of their distance from the sun – Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune) OR
We Just Like Rushmore (an easy way to remember the presidents at Mount Rushmore – Washington, Jefferson, Lincoln, Roosevelt).

Posted by: Wendy

Leave a Reply

