Special! An Interview with Terry Border

Terry Border
We’re so excited to bring you a short interview with Terry Border, the author and illustrator of the book Peanut Butter and Cupcake, and creator of myriad fabulous artworks.

Do you have any favorite scenes that you created for the book?

It was fun making the unicycle. A challenge too. I have to say that I really like the tree I made for French Fries to sit underneath though.

What advice would you give young writers?

I consider myself more a visual artist than I writer. I’m still struggling with trying to put words together. If I had to give advice though, it would be to write about what really interests you.

Do you have any subjects that you’re dying to write about, but haven’t yet?

I’m sure I will, but I don’t know what they are yet!

What is your favorite word?

For some reason, from the time I was a little kid “parasol” was a word that gave me a magic feeling in my brain. I have NO idea why, and I find that very weird.

What inspires you?

I’m inspired by other people doing what they love. Good music also inspires me quite a bit. Other people’s artwork is awesome to look at.

What was the most exciting thing that happened to you as a child?

I always remember my first day of kindergarten. I loved kindergarten soooo much. Snacks and a naptime, how can you not love that?

Who is your favorite author or book (children’s or adult)?

Mark Twain was a genius. He wrote with such ease, and yet every page has a line that other writers can only dream of writing.

What authors or artists influenced you when you were first starting out?

I’ve always been a fan of Alexander Calder, and his mobiles and wire sculpture. If you look up him playing with his circus on Youtube, you can see his genius and maybe where I was influenced.

What are your hobbies when you’re not making art?

I like watching movies with my family. I’m a big Marx Brothers and WC Fields fan.

Can you give us any hints about any new books for children that you might have coming out soon?

Next year I have a children’s book coming out about a cupcake planning her own birthday party. I think there are a lot of laughs in it.

Thanks so much to Terry Border for taking the time to answer our questions. We can’t wait to see next year’s book about the cupcake! In the meantime, check out this video of Alexander Calder’s Circus!

Leave a Reply

