My Most Excellent Year by Steve Kluger

My Most Excellent YearI hate romantic comedies.  I find them boring and I can’t keep from rolling my eyes constantly.  In fact, I think the reason that I avoid most realistic fiction is because I’m afraid that the book will turn into a romantic comedy-in-writing.  BUT.  I really loved My Most Excellent Year.  Which is definitely a romantic comedy.  Which might mean I’m slipping.

T.C. Keller, Augie Hwong and Alejandra Perez are all 9th graders at a Boston high school, and each of them–without realizing it–is trying to figure out where they belong in life.  T.C. is trying to stay a B+ student, in spite of his natural intelligence and love of politics; Augie is trying to reconcile himself to being both a sports star and a theater director of genius proportions; and Ale is trying to  live up to her diplomat parents’ expectations, while also following her dream of performing in musical theater. 

Do they figure it out?  (And find love along the way?)  Jeez, guys, come on–this is a romantic comedy!  Of COURSE they do!  But the process of finding their way is a wonderful read.  Most reviews will probably point out that it’s heartwarming and poignant, descriptive terms that usually make me run screaming in opposite direction.  BUT.  It’s true: the book is heartwarming and poignant.  More importantly, though, the book is also hilarious.  (Also, I love musicals).  My Most Excellent Year probably won’t make me reconsider my antipathy to romantic comedies, but I’ll definitely recommend it to any 9th and 10th graders who love realistic fiction.

Posted by: Sarah

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Dax Pierce said,

    My Most Excellent Year by Steve Kluger

    This is one of the best easy reading books I have ever read. When I say easy reading, what I mean is that everyone, of all ages can enjoy this one. It made me nostalgic of my very own high school experiences and helped me re-live my first love, and all the silly things I did and said.

    I have not laughed as much with a book in a VERY long time. (besides David Sedaris of course)

    Dax Pierce

  2. 2

    MiMi said,

    This book was absolutly amazing.

    I had to read as an assignment for summer school, but ended up really enjoying it.Not only did it make me laugh out loud, but it really made me like romantic comedies more.

    I really recommend this book to everyone.(:

  3. 3

    sandrar said,

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  4. 4

    Madison said,

    I found this book in my highschool library and immedialtey fell in love with it. It is my all time favorite book. It is so funny and everytime I start reading I don’t want to put it down! I recommend it to everyone!

    -Madison F.

  5. 5

    Katarah Terry said,

    this book is really good. but i could not get into it. all i could think about were the other things going on in my life at the moment and so after all of this i was none the less distracted and maybe one day i will try to read it again although currently i do not have the time. i love reading but this book could not keep me entertained enough to keep my mind off of other details going on in my life. although i dont think any romantic comedy can ever relate to a teenager like myself i will defenitly try to read it again. and hopefully next time i try to read it i will enjoy it instead of dealing with an a.r. goal which is why im reading this book. but i cant get into it so i might fail one of my classes so yeah. thats about all i have to say about that. gonna take the test anyway wish me luck! lol

  6. 6

    Emma said,

    This is, without a doubt, my favorite book, if not the best book EVER. 😀

  7. 7

    Saya said,

    I’m a bibliophile by nature and a romantic at that, so it’s really hard for me to hate any book, but this one blew me away and set my standards much higher than they were. Now, I find it hard to read a romantic comedy without thinking, “But ‘My Most Excellent Year’ was better.”
    I admire Steven Kluger for his complete capturing of first loves and the not-so-romantic blunders that go with it.

  8. 8

    victoria said,

    I chose this book from the school library for a free reading project for english. and I have to say, without a doubt, this is one of the best books I’ve ever read. At first I didn’t get what they were doing with the alternating perspectives, but after a while I began to fall in love with it. I especially love how Augie’s friends and family knew he was gay, and he didn’t at first. So this is a very good book, I recommend it and I;m only in the eight grade!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment